In July, the Trump administration announced a rule that upends the United States’ system of dealing with asylum seekers. Under the new rules, no migrant can apply for asylum unless he or she sought it in at least 1 other country along the way and have been refused. The rules affect anyone who is not Mexican and arrives at the American border by land.